Airbus A330-900 receives EASA Type Certification

02 Oct 10:00 by Jon Packham


The A330-900 has received its Type Certification from the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA).

The aircraft is powered by Rolls-Royce Trent 7000 engines. The Type Certificate was signed by EASA’s Certification Director, Trevor Woods, and handed over by EASA’s Head of Large Aeroplanes Certification, Ludovic Aron, to Airbus’ Head of Engineering for Commercial Aircraft, Jean-Brice Dumont. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) certification is expected to follow shortly.  

Sitec's Design and Stress teams are proud to have supported Airbus with the Design and Integration of the A330-900neo Wing from Sitec's Engineering Design facility in Filton, Bristol.  The wings are produced at the Airbus Factory in Broughton.

The extended-fuselage member of Airbus’ A330neo product line – the A330-900neo –can accommodate 287 seats in a typical three-class layout or up to 440 for high-density configurations. Incorporating the latest-generation Rolls-Royce Trent 7000 engines, along with aerodynamic improvements – including new composite Sharklet wingtip devices – as well as increased lift and reduced drag, the A330neo is a more efficient aircraft that will generate savings through reduced fuel burn.

To read the full Airbus news story click here

More about the A330 family and A330-900neo specifications from the web:

A330 family

A330-900neo Specifications